Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Two reviews for 2/2016

I read these books in the month of February and I quite enjoyed them. Please let me know if you have read them and if so, what you thought of them.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodoes

The back of the book, like most books, has recomendations and quotes from people or companies. The one that caught my eye was from TOR.com. They say "Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones", which I would agree with. Similarly to A Song of Ice and Fire, the book has switching charcter perspectives, flawed characters and the intrigue of countries on the brink of war. In this book, there are three countries and a character perspective from each.
 The Princess of well-off Auranos, Cleo, who is betrothed to a drunkard she hates, is the first POV character. She is kind hearted and passionate about her family, and is the only female POV. Magnus, son of the King of Blood, and Prince of Limeros, the icy country to the north of Auranos is the second POV character. He is dark, though I can't blame him, as it is in some part, due to his father's influnce. The final POV character is unique in that he is not royalty or nobel at all. He is Jonas, the peasent boy who finds himself being swept into a rebelion for his country, Paelsia. Paelsia is under a trade deal with Auranos, which is draining the country of it's famous wine and paying a pitance for it.
The stories of these characters and countries interwince and connect, through the overall book. The fantasy elements are minimal with the prophecied sorceress, being a secondary character and the magic being barely touched upon. But this is the first book in a series, so I do look forward to reading the following books and seeing how the fate of the characters further intertwine.  Overall I would recomend this book, easpecially if you are in the mood for a book with royals, rebels and plunty of intrigue.  I would give this book a 4/5. If you like Falling Kingdoms, try Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.


Atlantia by Ally Condie

You may be familiar with Ally Condie's previous work, the Matched trilogy. Unlike that, this book is a stand alone novel, but it is still a teen romance. The focus is less on the romance and more on the mystery that the main character is trying to solve. The protagonist, Rio, lives with her sister in an underwater city, called Below. Her sister, Bay, leaves her to go Above and she spends the novel trying to find out why she left and how she can rejoin her sister on the surface. The only catch is that Rio is a siren, someone who can control people with her voice. She has kept this talent hidden, per her late mother's wishes, and now she must use it, in her pursuit of her sister.
This book was a lovely stand alone novel that I was able to finish in the space of one work day. It does remind me of The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau. They both have female protagonists who are trying to escape from their secluded community.  Unlike Ember, this book includes some fantasy elements. It also goes into how the religion of the cities, Below and Above, and their origins and history. I wish the author had focused more on that as it was fascinating.  It was my favorite part of the book. I didn't much care for the romance, though it wasn't the romantic interest they bothered me. It felt like it would have been better off, if it had more time to develop. The establishing freindship was lovely but the romance itself felt rushed. The romance was my least favorite part of the book. I am not sure if I would recomend this to everyone but I give this book a 3/5.   If you like Atlantia, try The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau.

Sunday, January 3, 2016

Happy New Year

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a happy and safe new year celebration. One of my resolutions is to do things I want to, and that includes blogging and writing in general.

I haven't been reading anything much lately. Due to life interference, I haven't been able to get any new books or get to a library. But I do want to do some rereading and review some old favorites.  In 2015 I read 31 books, at least according to my goodreads. My year goal was 35, so I got pretty close. Considering the circumstances of the past 6 months, that is not bad at all. My goal for 2016 is 40 books for the year. I hope to review at least 1 book a month, and we will see how that goes. For now at least I will keep a record of my TBR and what I am reading. Here's to a happy 2016! :)

My TBR: Wicked by Gregory Maguire & Son of a Witch by Gregory Macguire

Currently reading: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins