Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Two reviews for 2/2016

I read these books in the month of February and I quite enjoyed them. Please let me know if you have read them and if so, what you thought of them.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodoes

The back of the book, like most books, has recomendations and quotes from people or companies. The one that caught my eye was from TOR.com. They say "Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones", which I would agree with. Similarly to A Song of Ice and Fire, the book has switching charcter perspectives, flawed characters and the intrigue of countries on the brink of war. In this book, there are three countries and a character perspective from each.
 The Princess of well-off Auranos, Cleo, who is betrothed to a drunkard she hates, is the first POV character. She is kind hearted and passionate about her family, and is the only female POV. Magnus, son of the King of Blood, and Prince of Limeros, the icy country to the north of Auranos is the second POV character. He is dark, though I can't blame him, as it is in some part, due to his father's influnce. The final POV character is unique in that he is not royalty or nobel at all. He is Jonas, the peasent boy who finds himself being swept into a rebelion for his country, Paelsia. Paelsia is under a trade deal with Auranos, which is draining the country of it's famous wine and paying a pitance for it.
The stories of these characters and countries interwince and connect, through the overall book. The fantasy elements are minimal with the prophecied sorceress, being a secondary character and the magic being barely touched upon. But this is the first book in a series, so I do look forward to reading the following books and seeing how the fate of the characters further intertwine.  Overall I would recomend this book, easpecially if you are in the mood for a book with royals, rebels and plunty of intrigue.  I would give this book a 4/5. If you like Falling Kingdoms, try Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.


Atlantia by Ally Condie

You may be familiar with Ally Condie's previous work, the Matched trilogy. Unlike that, this book is a stand alone novel, but it is still a teen romance. The focus is less on the romance and more on the mystery that the main character is trying to solve. The protagonist, Rio, lives with her sister in an underwater city, called Below. Her sister, Bay, leaves her to go Above and she spends the novel trying to find out why she left and how she can rejoin her sister on the surface. The only catch is that Rio is a siren, someone who can control people with her voice. She has kept this talent hidden, per her late mother's wishes, and now she must use it, in her pursuit of her sister.
This book was a lovely stand alone novel that I was able to finish in the space of one work day. It does remind me of The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau. They both have female protagonists who are trying to escape from their secluded community.  Unlike Ember, this book includes some fantasy elements. It also goes into how the religion of the cities, Below and Above, and their origins and history. I wish the author had focused more on that as it was fascinating.  It was my favorite part of the book. I didn't much care for the romance, though it wasn't the romantic interest they bothered me. It felt like it would have been better off, if it had more time to develop. The establishing freindship was lovely but the romance itself felt rushed. The romance was my least favorite part of the book. I am not sure if I would recomend this to everyone but I give this book a 3/5.   If you like Atlantia, try The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau.

Sunday, January 3, 2016

Happy New Year

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a happy and safe new year celebration. One of my resolutions is to do things I want to, and that includes blogging and writing in general.

I haven't been reading anything much lately. Due to life interference, I haven't been able to get any new books or get to a library. But I do want to do some rereading and review some old favorites.  In 2015 I read 31 books, at least according to my goodreads. My year goal was 35, so I got pretty close. Considering the circumstances of the past 6 months, that is not bad at all. My goal for 2016 is 40 books for the year. I hope to review at least 1 book a month, and we will see how that goes. For now at least I will keep a record of my TBR and what I am reading. Here's to a happy 2016! :)

My TBR: Wicked by Gregory Maguire & Son of a Witch by Gregory Macguire

Currently reading: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 

Monday, June 22, 2015

FREE Comic Book Alert! Free till midnight on the 23rd of June.







Use this video to see how to get a free copy of Grace's new book, Confessions of a Texan in Tokyo, as well as her previous books, My Japanese Husband still Thinks I'm Crazy and My Japanese Husband Thinks I'm Crazy. They are all great reads and they are a must read for any one who is interested in Modern Daily Life in Japan. The kindle version of all three books are free till midnight 6/23/2015.

Saturday, June 20, 2015

I'm That Book Quiz

This is from the blog of the wonderful author Gail Carriger. Please go visit her blog or read her books! 

I'm That Book Quiz

1. Snacks Are My Weakness

2. Their Eyes Were Watching YouTube

3. Have Money Will Travel


4. Wuthering Plains


5. The Scarlet Herbal Tea


6. The Portrait of a Person


7. Three Nerds in a Boat


8. The Strange Case of Vanishing Food.


9. The Call of the Caffeine. 


10. Journey to the Center of the Bed.



I am just waking up while filling this out. I haven't even had my first cup of tea yet! You may be able to tell, as most of my answers are food and drink themed. :) 

If you want to do this fun book themed activity, please leave it in the comments or link to your own blog. 


Blank Template for if you want to do it!


1. ___________ Are My Weakness


2. Their Eyes Were Watching ___________


3. Have ___________ Will Travel


4. Wuthering ___________


5. The Scarlet ___________


6. The Portrait of a ___________


7. Three ___________ in a Boat


8. The Strange Case of ___________

9. The Call of the ___________


10. Journey to the Center of the ___________

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Hey Y'all

     This is Sarah, AKA The Unrepentant Reader here. I intend this blog to be a place to talk about books, books, and more books! What I am reading, All books both new and old, including reviews of my favorite books and authors  as well as new books too! Everything is on the table.  I am a huge self-proclaimed nerd and I love Sci-Fi and Fantasy as well as YA and Non Fiction. I also love comics, anime, manga, movies and tv shows. I may go over those as well, but no promises. ;) 

     Beginnings are hard so lets get started! Please feel free to give me book recommendations or blog ideas! I look forward to talking about books with y'a'll!  

Currently reading: The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon. Book 5 in the Outlander Series. 

TBR: A Breath of Snow and Ashes, Book 6 in the Outlander Series. In a Sunburned Country, by Bill Bryson.  Deception Point by Dan Brown